ESRA offers 3 different awards:


Carl Koller Award

The Carl Koller Award is the recognition of ESRA for the outstanding lifetime contribution to the field of Regional Anaesthesia and/or Pain Medicine.


Recognition of Education in Regional Anaesthesia Award

ESRA undertakes to support outstanding innovative activities or developments in the field of Regional Anaesthesia by annually awarding the Regional Anaesthesia Award.

This award is a reflection on excellence in teaching & clinical education in the field of regional anaesthesia.



Albert Van Steenberge Award
The ESRA Albert Van Steenberge Award was created in 2010 in the memory of Albert Van
Steenberge, one of the society’s founding members.
Recipients of this award are recognized based on the following:
• The recipient must be of European nationality
• The award will recognise a scientific article considered most relevant, in its contribution to
the practice of regional anaesthesia and published in the year preceding the Annual




Please click here to access the full list of Awardees.